2022 Physician in Training Awards

We would like to congratulate the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association 2022 Annual Meeting “Physician in Training Award Winners for Excellence in Medical Writing”. 
These Orthopedic Surgery residents were each awarded their prize money of $1,000 and were recognized at the 2022 Annual Meeting.
(L-R) Erick M. Marigi, MD; Aaron R. Owen, MD; Jacob C. Maier, MS; James T. Layson, DO; William W. Cross III, MD | San Antonio, TX

Edward D. Henderson, M.D. Award
Erick M. Marigi, M.D. | Rochester, MN

Surgical Treatment of Anterior Cruciate Ligament Tears in Competitive Wrestlers: Reoperations, Outcomes, and Return to Play

E. W. Johnson, Jr., M.D. Award
Aaron R. Owen, M.D. | Rochester, MN

Spinal Anesthesia versus General Anesthesia in Contemporary Primary Total Hip Arthroplasties

Carl L. Nelson, M.D. Award
James T. Layson, D.O. | Saint Clair Shores, MI
Impact of Registry Education on Opioid Utilization: MARCQI's Pain-Control Optimization Pathway

Dallas B. Phemister, M.D. Award
Jacob C. Maier, M.S. | Parma, OH

Depth of Tissue Destruction During Footprint Preparation with Radiofrequency Ablation 

William W. Cross III, M.D. | 2022 Program Committee Chair
Norman S. Turner, M.D. | 2021 - 2022 MAOA President