2023 Physician in Training Awards

We would like to congratulate the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association 2023 Annual Meeting “Physician in Training Award Winners for Excellence in Medical Writing”.  These Orthopedic Surgery residents were recognized at the 2023 MAOA Annual meeting and each awarded $1,000 prize.

L-R: Asa Z. Peterson, MD; Michael A. Ewing, MD; Chrystina L. James, MD; Maxwell V. Phillips, MD

Edward D. Henderson, MD Award
Asa Z. Peterson, MD | St. Louis, MO

Isolated Thoracic and Lumbar Transverse Process Fractures, Do They Need Spine Surgeon Evaluation? A High Volume Level I Trauma Center Experience with Cost Analysis

E. W. Johnson, Jr., MD Award
Michael A. Ewing, MD | Columbia, MO

Hemiarthroplasty for Femoral Neck Fracture.  Does Approach Affect Outcomes?

Carl L. Nelson, MD Award
Chrystina L. James, MD | Detroit, MI

A Comparison of Clinical and Radiographic Outcomes in Humeral Shaft Fracture

Dallas B. Phemister, MD Award
Maxwell V. Phillips, MD | Grand Rapids, MI

Nationwide Analysis of Cardiopulmonary Outcomes After Multiple Long Bone Fracture Fixation

Matthew F. Dilisio, MD | 2023 Program Committee Chair

Erik T. Otterberg, MD | 2022 - 2023 MAOA President