2020 Physician in Training Awards

We would like to congratulate the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association 2020 Annual Meeting “Physician in Training Award Winners for Excellence in Medical Writing”.  These Orthopedic Surgery residents will be awarded their prize money of $1,000 at this time and recognized at the 2021 Annual Meeting.

Edward D. Henderson, M.D. Award
Kamil Bober, M.D., Detroit, MI
“Pain Control after Total Hip Arthroplasty:  A Randomized Trial Determining Efficacy of Fascia Iliaca Compartment Blocks in the Immediate Postoperative Period”

E. W. Johnson, Jr., M.D. Award
Cody C. Wyles, M.D., Rochester, MN
“Quicker and More Predictable Return of Motor Function and Ambulation after Mepivacaine vs. Bupivacaine Spinal:  A Double Blind RCT in Primary TKA and THA”

Carl L. Nelson, M.D. Award
Angelina M. Vera, M.D., Houston, TX
“An Injury Prevention Program for Professional Ballet:  A Randomized Controlled Investigation”

Dallas B. Phemister, M.D. Award
Sean M. Fitzpatrick, M.D., Columbus, OH
“Positive Reframing:  An Important but Underutilized Coping Strategy in Young Athletes Undergoing Sports-Related Knee Surgery”

Justin C. Siebler, M.D., 2020 Program Committee Chair
Matthew A. Mormino, M.D., 2019-2020 MAOA President