2021 Physician in Training Awards

We would like to congratulate the Mid-America Orthopaedic Association 2021 Annual Meeting “Physician in Training Award Winners for Excellence in Medical Writing”.  These Orthopedic Surgery residents were each awarded their prize money of $1,000 and were recognized at the 2021 Annual Meeting.

(L-R) Dr. E. Bailey Terhune; Dr. Nicholas L. Kolodychuk; Dr. Kevin A. Sonn; Dr. Michael M. Kheir | Amelia Island, FL

Edward D. Henderson, M.D. Award
E. Bailey Terhune, M.D. | Chicago, IL
Closed Incision Negative-Pressure Therapy for Revision Total Hip Arthroplasty: A Randomized Control Trial

E. W. Johnson, Jr., M.D. Award
Nicholas L. Kolodychuk, M.D. | Akron, OH
Fascia Iliaca Blocks Performed in the Emergency Department Decrease  Opioid Consumption and Length of Stay in Hip Fracture Patients

Carl L. Nelson, M.D. Award
Michael M. Kheir, M.D. | Indianapolis, IN
Extended Oral Antibiotics Prevent PJI in High-Risk Cases: 3,855 Patients with One-Year Follow-Up

Dallas B. Phemister, M.D. Award
Kevin A. Sonn, M.D. | Indianapolis, IN
Dual-Mobility Bearings Fail to Reduce Dislocation Rates vs. Jumbo Ceramic Heads in Revision THA 

Nicolas O. Noiseux, M.D., FRCS(C), M.S., 2021 Program Committee Chair
Craig R. Mahoney, M.D., 2020 - 2021 MAOA President